God and Game Shows

401682_10151126767781396_1198165445_n

So, as I mentioned in Awkward and Awesome Thursday a little while back, I am a fail daughter and missed church on one of the days my dad was preaching.

He wasn’t hurt by my absence since he knows I’ve heard this story a million times, but I tell you, I get something new from it every time. My dad preached about his experience getting on Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? I may not have explicitly stated this previously on the blog. It’s such an understood fact among my family and close friends that I often forget to actually talk about it.

When I found the podcast of the sermon on our church’s website, I sat through the whole thing even though I know the tale by heart. I laughed, cried, and had mini heart attacks all throughout. The Millionaire theme music still gives me anxiety.

Sermons might not be your thing, but this is not a typical sermon. My dad is brilliant, hilarious, and a storyteller, and all of those things shine in this audio clip. If you can hang in there, I know you will be entertained and inspired by this story about my family.

God and Game Shows

Leave a Reply

