Fashion DIY: The Death of the Skinny White Cargos

When it comes to DIYing my own fashion from largely unfashionable pieces I currently own, I am a total fail at taking “before” pictures. Of course, this is the case with the super low-rise skinny cargo pants I made last semester that just saw their last day today.
The crotch exploded. Fortunately, I was about to go home anyway, so I discreetly shuffled back to my apartment and changed. I was wearing a long shirt. Hopefull nobody got flashed.
Anyway, I suppose you’ll just have to take my word for it that the pants used to look like this:
Yes, I purchased a pair of men’s white Aeropostale cargo pants at Salvo, and I actually wore them back when I attended a high school where jeans were not a widely accepted part of the dress code. However, apparently I realized at some point that not only did they not fit, but they looked like–well, men’s cargo pants. For this reason the pants had not seen the light of day for years by the time I retrieved them from my bottom drawer after stumbling upon this WikiHow post.
I’ve long been a fan of the skinny cargo trend, so I wanted my quick fix to be a bit more permanent than what is recommended in the above tutorial. Of course, this made the remodel a bit less quick as well, and as you can guess from today’s mishap, not as permanent as I would have hoped.
Nevertheless, after a weekend of sewing by hand, this was the delicious result:

The pics are from back when I made them,
not from today’s exhibitionist escapade.
RIP skinny white cargos. I suppose I actually have to pay money for a pair of white pants now . . .
Leave a Reply

